I Lose My Mind

Nice post! I’m automatically hooked by that song. Like you, I probably never stood a chance. One thing that surprised me, though, was that this is a completely new song; on hearing it I assumed it was 20 years old! It makes me wonder how often I would make this mistake if I always listened blindly. What bands actually sound like now? (I’m asking.) But I think I also made that assumption because the song manages to sound really authentic in a way I’m sure I can’t name. And authenticity seems like a valid question right now in indie rock, particularly concerning its social orientation. I won’t try to elaborate, because I like how Bradford Cox talked about this, about the absence of a counter-culture in music, in a recent Pitchfork interview.

I wanted also to say something quickly about music it seems I was predestined for. I think a lot of times it resists over-explanation, but is kind of just the result of a confluence of accident and interest. A few years ago (and still) I was really into Neil Halstead’s bands Slowdive and Mojave 3 at the same time that I was in love with a few of the Balearic beat-influenced Scandinavian-based indie pop bands. And so of course I came across a band from Sweden combining these two things, even referencing the title of a Slowdive song in the title of their only album. Caught the Breeze was released in 2007 and I’m never not listening to it, but it’s not that I think it’s an objectively great piece of music; it was just very obvious that this was something meant for me to find and move my head a little bit to on my own (without getting too sentimental about it).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

