Never Not Good

Hey guys. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately and I thought it might make kind of a good introductory post so here goes: Big Troubles has been in my playlist a bunch in the past few days and I was struck by how it sounds like it was custom-made for me. Here’s the particular song that’s been bouncing around the cavernous recesses of my skull:

So for whatever reason, there’s something about this kind of 90’s-ish, guitar-driven indie rock that I’m defenseless against. Here are the reasons why:

1) It’s generally (and vaguely) about some sort of romantic longing, which is a feeling that I’ve had every second of every day of my adult life for the past eight years.

2) I’m a sucker for melody/chiming guitars.

3) It’s “teenagery” in the best and worst senses of the word. It reminds me of a time of my life that was simultaneously optimistic and crushingly depressing, although I didn’t really process it at the time.

4) It’s easy to like.

So what do you guys think? What kinds of music always do it for you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

